leadership > board of trustees

Mary Anna Sullivan, MD


Dr. Mary Anna Sullivan retired as Chief Medical Officer of Behavioral Services at Lahey Health System, where she oversaw efforts to integrate behavioral health in primary care and worked to improve access to specialty psychiatric and addiction care across the system. Dr. Sullivan, a board-certified physician in psychiatry and neurology, enjoyed a 30-year career at Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, holding various clinical and leadership roles.

A recognized leader in psychiatric and substance-use programs, Dr. Sullivan is currently Chair of Physician Health Service, the Massachusetts Medical Society division responsible for physician well-being, and a member of the Board of Trustees of Lahey Health Behavioral Services. She is immediate past president of the Massachusetts Coalition for the Prevention of Medical Errors and has served as Chair of the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine, where she headed a statewide effort to encourage physician involvement in hospitals’ quality improvement efforts.

In 2016, Dr. Sullivan was presented with the Honoring Outstanding People Everywhere (HOPE) award from Medically Induced Trauma Support Services (MITSS) Inc., whose mission is to create awareness, promote open and honest communication, and to provide services to patients, families and clinicians affected by medically induced trauma.

Dr. Sullivan received her undergraduate degree from Dartmouth College, her medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, and completed her residency training in Psychiatry at McLean Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital.